Le Penseur: How is it done? HAREM PANTS.

Today’s issue of Le Penseur: How is it done? Is focused quite naturally on my latest obsession. Which there is a kind of irony to. Have you ever had a trend that you took to the moment people stopped talking about them? Well for me that trend is the harem pant trend. Last spring when everyone started Oooing and awing over pants that had the crouch at the knees – I had to control an urge to vomit. But this year after seeing these flirty and highly drool worthy ones on Masterpiece’s Downton Abbey. I decided I must make a pair tout de suite! So can I make this costume into something wearable for 2011. Sounds like its time for another edition of Le Penseur: How is it done? HAREM PANTS.

Ok, first let me say that anything with a baggy crouch or gathers at the waist is right out! No – not having it. That’s not going to flatter anyone. With that established lets look at some styles. I love the flow of the first three, the only draw back being that they are made from knits and there might be that problem of feeling I’m going out in glorified sweatpants. Well ok, the pair on the top right are wool cashmere stretch but thats hardly practical. Especially for summer. So a lightweight non-stretch would be best. Perhaps some sort of faille? Or some sort of cotton or silky material? The cotton would obviously be worm more often…

Now that the fabric has been established. What about fit and design? An important consideration for me is I want to feel comfortable in them. I don’t want to feel like I am wearing a costume! Thats where the bottom three come in, with zippers and pockets I wont feel like I got lost from off the set of Arabian Knights. 🙂 I also love the bow detail on the gray pair and the wide waist band on the top right give them a modern feel.

As to color, most seem pretty neutral, your already making a statement with the pants – no need to go overboard!

With these considerations I’ll let you know what I come up with. 🙂

About couturecorner

Designer, sewer, and crafting advocate living in the American Southeast.
This entry was posted in Le Penseur: How is it done? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

